School Board


In 1986, the enrollment of the school was at an all time low of 370 students, buildings were in need of serious repair, funds were very low, and the new Principal asked for assistance in guiding and directing St. Ursula School. That same year the Saint Ursula School Board was instituted and developed long range planning for the school. The Board established committees to oversee various aspects of the school, including tuition, education, maintenance, finance, tuition assistance, and development.

Over the next few years, the Board, through its Committees, oversaw several enhancements. Through the oversight of the Facilities Committee, repairs were made to the roofs, windows and boilers, while environmental concerns were also addressed. The Development Committee wrote grant proposals to obtain funding from the Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency, Knott Foundation and others. Tuition assistance was established through the parish to help those families with the greatest need.

In 2010, under direction of the Blue Ribbon Commission of the Archdiocese of Baltimore, the Board was reconstituted in the new Archdiocesan Collaborative Schools model of governance.  As an ACS school, St. Ursula’s school board became a deliberative body, with limited jurisdiction in the areas of Catholic Identity, Finance, Facilities, Marketing, and Development.

The Board now has the following six standing committees: Finance; Strategic Planning; Development; Catholic Identity; Marketing; Facilities; Membership; and Tuition Assistance. Each committee is chaired by a Board member and has regularly scheduled meetings.

Over the years the Board has been able to provide for a strong education, which is open to all, while maintaining a strong financial base. In all it does, the Board continues to keep a Catholic identity, as the School and Board are always mindful of the holy presence of God.

Current Board Members

President Charles Devaud
Vice-President Marc Parisi
Secretary Helen Bruns
Treasurer/Finance Committee Tom Dolan
Member at Large Friar Matt Foley
Member at Large Daniela Petchik
Development Committee Jennifer Hackett
Facilities Committee Tim Iannuzzi
 Catholic Identity Committee TBD
Marketing Committee Bonnie Kottraba
 Strategic Planning Committee Valerie Roddy
Membership Committee Tina Riesett
PHSA President/Parent Representative Caroline Davis
Canonical Representative Fr. Steve Hook
School Principal (non-voting member) Deborah Glinowiecki
Mark Horney

Contact Information

The Board can be contacted through the President Charles Devaud.


Nomination to the SUS School Board or any of the committees is by appointment of the membership committee and voted by the School Board.  Nominations must be approved by the Department of Catholic Schools and the Archbishop.